Evaluation

For this project I decided to work in a group with 10 other people to produce a book. We decided the theme would be ‘Why I hate to love design’. I was really happy with the name of the publication and already I started getting ideas and quotes in my mind to work on. The quotes I worked on were:

The variety of colour can make choosing the right one challenging

The work of others inspires me to do something truly amazing

and

I like buying new design materials however there is always a budget limitation.

I quite liked working within a group, if I was unsure on an idea that I had I could always rely on my peers to give me feedback and suggestions.

In the production I was part of the team that looked at the size of the book which would really show our work off well. We discussed sizes and then I made mock ups of the size using paper so we could get an idea of the size, what would be easy to hold, what margins would work well and the overall expectation of the book. We agreed to go for a larger size however due to cost reasons we had to make the book and margins smaller to keep the cost low.

Quite recently I have become very interested in handmade book binding and therefore this production has really helped me to understand what needs to be considered when printing the pages. For example if one page needs to come out of an A4 or bigger piece of paper then the cost will be more expensive. It also come to my attention that if you make a book which is a one off and only have a couple of copies, It actually works out much more expensive that what it does if you were to buy 100 or more copies.

Over the easter holidays it was quite difficult to keep in contact and get feedback from peers on ideas etc so we created the Contemporary Graphic Design Facebook page where we uploaded our work and was able to keep in contact with everyone. This worked really well as the notifications came through to my phone and therefore I kept up to date with everyone and with all the work being produced.

 

I am really excited to pick up my copies tomorrow we all worked really hard to complete the work and to get the book sent off to the printers. Thank you to everyone who contributed, either with work or the cost of the publication.

Leave a Reply

