The Perfume Shop

Before todays lecture I went to the Perfume Shop and asked them to help me the same way in which Boots did. Again unfortunatly I was unable to take photographs as it was against the company policy, but they told me to take the pictures from their website at http://www.theperfumeshop.com. I asked the sales assistant to show me packaging that represented the words for the new scents and she came up with different ideas to the other assistant in boots.

Perfect sublime love:

Axis Love:
Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 15.19.24I think this packaging fits the description well, its pretty and perfect and the heart represents love. This design is simple and I quite like it.  Another perfume I was shown, was Love struck by Vera Wang:

Lovestruck perfumeI was not overly keen on this packaging however It was the only one the sales assistant could think of. Again its pink and pretty and even just having the word love represents that emotion. I think its simple but too plain.

Love and fear/ Adrenaline:

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 15.23.36

This packaging is different to the one I was shown in boots, I noticed how the packaging shows romance with the rose, however it also shows fear by having the skull in the background. It makes me wonder why there should be fear when there is love around?

Passion and desire:

Madly Kenzo was the perfume for this emotion and the sales assistant explained that the passion is in the colour red of the butterflies, and the desire is in the group of butterflies rather than the one.

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 15.25.22

I think to get across the passion more in this design there should have been more red, but I do still really like the design and the cluster of butterflies.

Elegant and dignified:

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 15.26.47I quite liked this perfume packaging, the sales assistant said it was quite eye catching and elegant fitting the emotion really well. I did not think that this design was elegant because of the thorns and prickles. I do like the colours though it does stand out very well. The actual perfume bottle is also fantastic!

The sales assistant also showed me the Chanel perfume I saw in boots. I think the two perfumes she chose for this emotion are very contradicting but I do understand where she is coming from. I agree with the Chanel perfume however, It is elegant and very simple.

I asked the sales assistnat to show me their range of unisex perfumes and she showed my another Calvin Klein product, CK Be. This packaging is just like the CK one however is navy in colour. I asked her if this was quite popular with the males being a unisex perfume and she replied that it is more popular than the CK One. The unisex packaging is most of the time plain and very simple with hardly any if no graphics at all. They are usually block colour either black or white or a dark colour like navy.

images

Leave a Reply

